Something in the Water - Catherine Steadman

Something in the Water

By Catherine Steadman

  • Release Date: 2018-06-05
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 473 Ratings

Description

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

“A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!”—Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?
 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .
 
Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?
 
Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .
 
Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?
 
Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

Praise for Something in the Water

“Arresting . . . deftly paced, elegantly chilly . . . [Catherine] Steadman brings . . . wit, timing and intelligence to this novel. . . . Something in the Water is a proper page-turner.”The New York Times

“With unreliable characters, wry voices, exquisite pacing, and a twisting plot, Steadman potently draws upon her acting chops. . . . A darkly glittering gem of a thriller from a new writer to watch.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Captivating . . . daring . . . The threats and increasingly bad decisions accelerate with Bourne-like velocity. . . . Steadman [is] a newcomer worth watching.”Publishers Weekly

“An unbearably tense debut with a knockout premise, Something in the Water had me hooked from the very first sentence. Thrilling and thought-provoking, it’s the perfect beach read. I devoured it!”—Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Final Girls

Reviews

  • Remarkably spectacular

    5
    By capeimer
    Gripping and tightly written, a truly addictive and thoughtful mystery. I loved reading this book
  • Gripping

    5
    By Natalie M.
    From page one, I couldn’t put it down. So glad I purchased this to read again in the future.
  • Something in the water

    3
    By Peg1gy
    Different, easy to read, predictable, but interesting.
  • Disappointing

    3
    By Naplesnut
    The plot was interesting and I liked the liked the many characters although they were a bit flimsy. It seems as though the author didn’t know how to finish and managed it merely by ceasing to write anymore.
  • Something in the water

    1
    By natva1
    Utterly boring due entirely to the “heroine” bing dumb and predictable. Shameful.nrkva1
  • Loved.

    5
    By kathrynpaige
    I read this book in two days, which is impressive for me. I couldn’t put it down. I recommended it to anyone willing to listen. write me more books, Catherine!!
  • BBR

    3
    By britspradlin
    It took me a bit to get into this book. I mainly read it because it was on Reese’s book club and there was so much hype. I didn’t like how Erin contradicted herself often. I had a sense Mark wasn’t up to any good. The storyline was great though. The complexes and the ending were good. I felt like the pregnancy was a nuisance. It had me thinking once I completed the book if I ever found a flotsam, what would I do? Even jetsam. Mark had said “...their bad people.” So that made it ok what they decided to do.
  • Not worth your time

    1
    By Ash102583
    This book was completely unbelievable. Every plot twist was implausible and the main character was annoying and not smart. I only finished it to see where the story could possibly go. *Spoiler alert: how can the woman not have her husbands phone number memorized but can memorize the coordinates of the plane crash and her Swiss bank account? Like I said, implausible.* Rant over, avoid this book!!!
  • Something in the water

    5
    By Clairechick
    Loved it! Couldn't put it down. Keep writting Mrs. Steadham!!!
  • Mediocre

    3
    By maiway
    This is a quick read, no doubt, but ultimately disappointing. No comparison to Gillian Flynn. The writer has no interest in human psychology, so the characters are flat and one-dimensional. She can’t come up with a good motivation for why the protagonist puts herself in unnecessary danger - “I wanted to know more” is not a reason to risk danger or death.