A Simple Favor - Darcey Bell

A Simple Favor

By Darcey Bell

  • Release Date: 2017-03-21
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 3.5
3.5
From 124 Ratings

Description

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Reviews

  • Okay

    2
    By showmethosekitties
    It was an okay book. Felt like a waste after reading it though. Plot was drawn out, characters unlikable, built up to a lackluster climax.
  • Dull

    1
    By demmmmmiiiiiiid
    There are cliff hangers and then there are horrible endings.. this one was a horrible ending. A lot of suspense for a dull ending.
  • I absolutely loved it

    5
    By Maridher
    I couldn’t put it down. I wanted to read it before the movie comes out next month so I bought it and loved it. I wasn’t expecting a lot of the little plot twists. However I wish the ending would of being more explanatory. I feel like it was open ended and I wanted to know so desperately what happens. Other than that, I freaking loved it.
  • Can

    1
    By xxfcxxyfccyuhxyxxdtdbzd bgrs
    Xmas ndinner Juddccdddtrrrfghy
  • Painful

    2
    By Charlie Jade
    This was a painful, tedious listen for a variety of reasons. One, for the endless mentions of the much better noir books this one is trying to rip off. (No, lady, Patricia Highsmith this ain’t.) Two, for the fact that. all three main characters are written to be incredibly annoying. I wasn’t rooting for a single one of them. Three, I just cannot hear the most annoying mommy blogger character say the word “MOMS” one. More. Time. I wanted to jump through the audiobook and kill her myself. Four, because this book is such a Gone Girl rip-off, with none of the finesse and a bunch much even more implausible things thrown in (not to mention a few thousand mentions of the word “Moms”). I kept up until the end hoping that I would get some kind of decent ending to redeem it. No such luck. Nothing much ever happens in this book — for all its noir ambitions, it’s really pretty tame. Spoiler: the only people who ever get killed are fringe characters we don’t really know or care about. Not worthy of inclusion in the canon of all the great noir titles it constantly name drops. I ended up being pretty annoyed I wasted so much time on this. One star for the great performances by the voice actors which is probably the only reason I didn’t turn it off.
  • Ridiculous

    1
    By xaviergirl10
    I started reading this book because I saw a preview for the movie and I really like the actresses in the movie. I really wanted to like this book, but it was absolutely ridiculous. The author crammed so many unrealistic and unreasonable twists into it. I kept reading until the end hoping it would get better, but it never did. The characters weren’t likeable, but not in a “Gone Girl” kind of way. I would not recommend this to anyone.
  • Didn’t keep my interest

    2
    By Millybo
    Liked the book at first, but then got bored and slow. Wish I hadn’t bought it.
  • Meh

    2
    By coco_puff_914
    I wanted to like this book because the movie trailer looks so amazing. I decided to buy it to read before seeing the movie, but was really disappointed in the quality of writing. The turns the story takes felt tired and predictable. Every single one of the “surprises” were really just common tropes in storytelling. During the scenes that were revealing the twist and turns the author often skipped so much detail that it became hard to follow. Multiple times I went back thinking I had missed a page because those scenes past so quickly. Dialogue and character thought trains were often jumpy and unnatural. I went ahead and finished the book thinking there would be one final twist to make up for the boring, predictable ride I had been on, but even the ending fell flat for me. The one positive I have for the book is that it was a quick, fairly mindless read, so it is perfect for breezing through on a rainy weekend or while lounging on vacation. Hopefully this will be on the few instances were the movie is better.
  • A Simple Favor

    1
    By brite pink
    What a colossal waste of time. It is hard to rate it a “1”. I finished the book because I Felt sure the ending would tie everything together. What a disappointment.
  • Good book

    4
    By Sumsum22
    I read if fairly quickly. Liked it alot and look forward to seeing it in movie form. But the ending wasn't as great as I expected. I have to agree that it was abrupt. While it makes you wonder what will happen, i doubt there would be a second book....